What if I don’t want my information shared?

We do not recommend opting out of Connecting Care.

Remember that the same Connecting Care information used by doctors, nurses and other care professionals has previously been shared by letter, fax or telephone.  By switching to modern, secure technology everyone benefits from quicker access to information by authorised, qualified and regulated professionals.

You have certain legal rights, including a right to have your information processed fairly and lawfully and a right to access any personal information we hold about you. You have the right to privacy and to expect Connecting Care partner organisations to keep your information confidential and secure. If you do not want information that identifies you to be accessed using Connecting Care and you decide to opt out, your information will continue to be shared, to deliver care to you, in the traditional ways.

When you “opt out” from your information being accessed by appropriate staff via Connecting Care, your information will continue to be stored in the system but will be removed from view.  This is because all partner organisations have a duty in law to make information available to specific, identified staff to investigate safeguarding concerns. Your information will not be available to anyone else except for these staff and only if you are relevant to their investigation.

How do I opt-out of/opt back into Connecting Care?

To opt out or back into Connecting Care call the Customer Services Team on 0800 073 0907 or 0117 900 2655, or download the appropriate form Connecting Care Opt Out Form or Connecting Care Opt In Form and email it to bnssg.customerservice@nhs.net 

You can also send it by post to Freepost, CONNECTING CARE SWCSU

Page last updated 9 August 2018

BACK TO TOP